

Council (Extraordinary Meeting)

Thursday 18 March 2021 5.00 pm

To be held as an online video conference.

The Press and Public are Welcome to Attend/Observe. To access the meeting, click on the 'View the Webcast' link on the webpage - <u>https://democracy.sheffield.gov.uk/ieListDocuments.aspx?Cld=154&Mld=7816</u> <u>&Ver=4</u>



COUNCIL (Extraordinary Meeting)

Thursday 18 March 2021, at 5.00 pm

To be held as an online video conference

MEMBERS OF THE COUNCIL

THE LORD MAYOR (Councillor Tony Downing) THE DEPUTY LORD MAYOR (Councillor Gail Smith)

1	<i>Beauchief</i> & <i>Greenhill Ward</i> Simon Clement-Jones Bob Pullin Richard Shaw	10	<i>East Ecclesfield Ward</i> Andy Bainbridge Vic Bowden Moya O'Rourke	19	<i>Nether Edge & Sharrow Ward</i> Peter Garbutt Jim Steinke Alison Teal
2	<i>Beighton Ward</i> Bob McCann Chris Rosling-Josephs Sophie Wilson	11	<i>Ecclesall Ward</i> Roger Davison Barbara Masters Shaffaq Mohammed	20	<i>Park & Arbourthorne Ward</i> Julie Dore Ben Miskell Jack Scott
3	<i>Birley Ward</i> Denise Fox Bryan Lodge Karen McGowan	12	<i>Firth Park Ward</i> Abdul Khayum Alan Law Abtisam Mohamed	21	<i>Richmond Ward</i> Mike Drabble Dianne Hurst
4	<i>Broomhill & Sharrow Vale Ward</i> Angela Argenzio Kaltum Rivers	13	<i>Fulwood Ward</i> Sue Alston Andrew Sangar Cliff Woodcraft	22	<i>Shiregreen & Brightside Ward</i> Dawn Dale Peter Price Garry Weatherall
5	<i>Burngreave Ward</i> Jackie Drayton Talib Hussain Mark Jones	14	<i>Gleadless Valley Ward</i> Lewis Dagnall Cate McDonald Paul Turpin	23	<i>Southey Ward</i> Mike Chaplin Tony Damms Jayne Dunn
6	<i>City Ward</i> Douglas Johnson Ruth Mersereau Martin Phipps	15	<i>Graves Park Ward</i> Ian Auckland Sue Auckland Steve Ayris	24	<i>Stannington Ward</i> David Baker Penny Baker Vickie Priestley
7	<i>Crookes & Crosspool Ward</i> Tim Huggan Mohammed Mahroof Anne Murphy	16	<i>Hillsborough Ward</i> Bob Johnson George Lindars-Hammond Josie Paszek	25	<i>Stocksbridge & Upper Don Ward</i> Jack Clarkson Julie Grocutt Francyne Johnson
8	<i>Darnall Ward</i> Mazher Iqbal Mary Lea Zahira Naz	17	<i>Manor Castle Ward</i> Terry Fox Sioned-Mair Richards	26	<i>Walkley Ward</i> Ben Curran Neale Gibson
9	<i>Dore & Totley Ward</i> Joe Otten Colin Ross Martin Smith	18	<i>Mosborough Ward</i> Tony Downing Kevin Oxley Gail Smith	27	<i>West Ecclesfield Ward</i> Alan Hooper Adam Hurst Mike Levery

28 Woodhouse Ward Mick Rooney Jackie Satur Paul Wood

Contact:

Paul Robinson, Democratic Services

paul.robinson@sheffield.gov.uk

PUBLIC ACCESS TO THE MEETING

The Council is composed of 84 Councillors with one-third elected three years in four. Councillors are democratically accountable to the residents of their Ward. The overriding duty of Councillors is to the whole community, but they have a special duty to their constituents, including those who did not vote for them

All Councillors meet together as the Council. Here Councillors decide the Council's overall policies and set the budget each year. The Council appoints the Leader and at its Annual Meeting will appoint Councillors to serve on its Committees. It also appoints representatives to serve on joint bodies and external organisations.

A copy of the agenda and reports is available on the Council's website at <u>http://democracy.sheffield.gov.uk/ieListMeetings.aspx?CommitteeId=154</u>. You may not be allowed to see some reports because they contain confidential information. These items are usually marked * on the agenda.

Members of the public have the right to ask questions or submit petitions to most Council meetings and recording is allowed under the direction of the Chair. Please see the website or contact Democratic Services for further information regarding public questions and petitions and details of the Council's protocol on audio/visual recording and photography at council meetings.

PLEASE NOTE THAT THIS EXTRAORDINARY MEETING OF THE COUNCIL WILL NOT INCLUDE AN ITEM TO RECEIVE QUESTIONS OR PETITIONS FROM MEMBERS OF THE PUBLIC.

Council meetings are normally open to the public but sometimes the Council may have to discuss an item in private. If this happens, you will be asked to leave. Any private items are normally left until last. Please see the website for details of how to view the remote meeting.

COUNCIL AGENDA 18 MARCH 2021

Order of Business

1. WELCOME AND HOUSEKEEPING ANNOUNCEMENTS

2. APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

3. DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

Members to declare any interests they have in the business to be considered at the meeting.

4. ESTABLISHMENT OF LOCAL AREA COMMITTEES

To approve, with or without amendment, the recommendation to be made by the Cabinet at its meeting to be held on 17th March 2021 that the Council approves the establishment of 7 Local Area Committees and approves the draft Area Committee Terms of Reference and Area Committee Procedure Rules, attached at Appendix 2 & 3 to the report of the Director of Legal and Governance, as changes to the Constitution, together with any minor consequential amendments, to take effect from the Annual Meeting of the Council.

Further details are set out in the joint report of the Director of Legal and Governance and Executive Director, People Services, published with this agenda.

adre

Gillian Duckworth Director of Legal and Governance

Dated this 10 day of March 2021

The next ordinary meeting of the Council will be held on 31 March 2021.